What’s On

The World of MusetteMusic for French Kings-

Sun 24 July, 4PM |Wesley Hall, Otley Methodist Church

Welcome to an intriguing world of Musette – a delicate French bagpipe whose fortunes rose and fell with French aristocracy in the 17th and 18th centuries.

As a second edition of Otley Baroque’s Discovery Series, we welcome Amanda Babington, an established baroque violinist based in Manchester, who fell in love with this instrument some years ago and became one of the few Musette player in the world.

Together with the members of her ensemble, Baroque in the North and Otley Baroque’s Asuka Sumi, Amanda will shed lights on this extremely rare instrument and introduce its beautiful, and a little wacky, pastoral music idolised by the court of Versailles and French Kings.

Derochet : Un debut de Concerto
Senaille: Sonata for Musette
Leclaire : Sonata for two violins
And more…

Amanda Babington, musette de cour & baroque violin
Asuka Sumi, baroque violin
Claire Babington, baroque cello
David Francis, harpsichord

Booking is now open via the TicketSource website!

There will be an Open Rehearsal (Free) for Young Discoverers (Age 0+) from 2:30-3pm.

Pop in to hear and see wacky old instruments!

%d bloggers like this: